Recent Highlights

It has been quite a long time since I’ve posted a new blog. As I’m sure no one wants almost two months worth of information about my life I’ll just give little anecdotes of the highlights:

I went home for Christmas. It was AMAZING!!!

I was kicked out of my host family’s home because they needed my room for visiting family. They gave me four days to find a new place. Fortunately I have a very nice friend who is letting me crash at her place.

The parents and in-laws of the volunteer near me visited the Reserve and I was able to give them a tour of the reserve with the local guide. We saw an exuberant amount of birds, particularly the roseate spoonbills. It was New Year’s Eve and I got to witness a very old coastal tradition where someone uses a bunch of weeds called “broom” to sweep away the bad spirits and bring in good luck for the new year.

I spent New Year’s Eve with one of the ladies I work with from the group. We ate fancy turkey, went to a church service and played with sparklers until two in the morning.

New Year’s Day I went to the family of her husband in a nearby town and we ate Fritada (pork dish) and lazed around all day. I had lots of photos but unfortunately I let a girl use my camera to take photos and she deleted all of them…

I lost my rat coin purse.

I ate a fancy Argentinean pasta dish with a very good bottle of wine with one of my PCV friends. Thanks to her and her uncle! We toasted to him several times.

I marked off a thing on my Ecuadorian bucket list: Train to Nariz del Diablo. It was fun, beautiful and interesting but I can tell you now the rock formation looks nothing like a nose.

I spent the night in Riobamba with several friends and we ate Llapingauchos and jugos made with ice from Chimborazo. It was a perfect send off.

After Llapingauchos in Riobamba we went to Quito and had a late lunch of legit burritos and maracuyá margaritas. We finished it off with micro-brewed beer. I heart Quito.

I attended our Close of Service Conference in which we learn about what we need to do to finish up our service. It was a bit sad knowing I’ll never see some of the friends I’ve made here in Ecuador again, or any time soon.

I made a quick  trip to Mindo where a few friends and I saw more hummingbirds I could fathom, exotic orchids, artisanal chocolate, Colombian musicians serenading us to the most delicious pizza I’ve had in Ecuador, a beautiful sleep in a tree-house hostel while being serenades by the cloud forest’s nightly rain.

I was invited to a little girl’s first communion ceremony in the Catholic church and accepted. Unbeknownst to me I had accepted to be the girl’s Godmother.

One thought on “Recent Highlights

  1. This Mimi loves to reads everything you write, so write on little one. Love you, love you. Your Mimi

Do you have something to say about my post?

